If you were recently injured on the job in southern Minnesota, you may think you are not eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits because the injury was your fault.
Knowing what the law has to say about workers’ compensation can prevent you from losing out on valuable benefits that can help pay the bills while you recover.
Do I have to prove negligence to receive workers’ compensation?
Like many people, you might think that an injury must be your employer’s fault for you to collect benefits. However, Minnesota is a no-fault state when it comes to workers’ compensation benefits. This means that, with a few exceptions, you can receive benefits for any injury that occurred on the job, regardless of who is at fault. Exceptions to this general rule include:
- If you were under the influence of narcotics or alcohol
- Your injury is very minor and does not affect your work
- You were off the clock
What should I do next?
After obtaining the necessary medical care, you should inform your employer of your injury as soon as possible. Minnesota law states that you have 180 days to inform your employer of your injury, but you must have a legitimate reason for the delay. Ideally, to expedite the process and avoid the appearance of deception, you should tell your employer about the incident within 14 days. While you do not need to prove negligence, it is still wise to gather eyewitnesses of the incident to help you demonstrate that the injury occurred at work.
Even if a workplace injury was your fault, you are most likely still eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits.